Easy Low or No Sugar Eats Over the Last Week

Of course trying to write another blog is a big undertaking, so I’m going to have to change my strategy. So, here’s a list of make-ahead and easy, fast recipes I’ve made over the last week with little or no sugar with links directly to the recipe. Enjoy!

From Edible Indy

Gazpacho – I didn’t have sherry vinegar so I just substituted a bit of red wine vinegar, white vinegar, and apple cider vinegar and it still tasted delicious!

Mushroom Risotto – This takes an hour or so, it’s a great make ahead dish and you can fresh portions for another day. My favorite risotto is butternut squash.

Cucumber, Yogurt, & Horseradish Soup – I had a hard time finding horseradish root, so I just skipped it and added a little dill and mint.

Living Strawberry Shortcake – I would like to try this with blueberries since they’re in season. I tried it with blackberries and they’re just too tart.

Zucchini Parmesan – I didn’t use any mozzarella, but I’m sure it’s just as delicious with the added cheese. Just substitute any gluten free flour to make it gluten free. I used coconut flour.

Roasted Rosemary Red Potatoes – These are so easy! You can roast over bacon or sprinkle bacon bits (real, not the fake crap!) to add some meat flavoring if you want.

Zucchini Blinis
recipe from I Quit Sugar
This is a great make-ahead recipe for a breakfast item. I have giant zucchinis from my parents’ garden that make these delicious. I would eat about 4-5 blinis each day and it was so easy and fast.

Serves: makes 8-10

  • coconut oil, butter or ghee for frying
  • 2 large zucchini
  • 1 tablespoon coconut flour
  • 3 eggs
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • homemade cream cheese, to serve
  • chopped chives, to serve

Grate the zucchini using a food processor with a shredding disc – you need 2 cups of grated zucchini. Sift the coconut flour into the eggs and beat them together until smooth. Mix in the zucchini, salt and pepper. Heat a little oil in a frying pan and spoon in dollops of the batter. Cook until golden on both sides. Serve warm with cream cheese and chives on top.

From I Quit Sugar

Leave a Reply

